Day of Reckoning is the Third Book in the highly acclaimed Lucas Wade Western Series. As the legendary Wyoming Range Wars are building steam, Marshal Lucas Wade finds himself caught between the Big Cattle corporate barons of the Stock Growers Association and the old time ranchers, big and small, that have settled in the open ranges of Wyoming. When the corporate cattlemen hang Judy Ruth Walder with an “I Rustled Cows” sign around her neck, Marshal Wade realizes there are no limits to what they will do. More than one gunfight will be required as Spencer, Wyoming fills up with gunmen hired by the Association, but eventually the conflict explodes into a war with hundreds on each side.
The previous two books in the series, Just Compensation and Gunfighter’s Justice, spent months on the Amazon Top 10 List of Classic Westerns. Raylan McCrae has been favorably compared by readers and critics to Zane Grey and Louis L’Amour. If you’ve not yet read the Lucas Wade series, Day of Reckoning is the perfect place to begin. Raylan McCrae continues to write about a wide open West, where freedom is personified by men willing to take a life and death stance for what they want or what they believe in. As always, in Day of Reckoning McCrae blends an action packed drama with humor and spice that will keep you turning pages.
Available on : Amazon

Raylan saved the best for book #3…Teriffic!!!!”

Five Star Review on Amazon By Mary Jane Kail

Lucas Wade, Marshal of Spencer, Wyoming is waiting on the arrival of the Union Pacific from Cheyenne. Receiving a telegram from the Marshal in Cheyenne, Lucas is looking for Ham Wabash who broke out of the Yuma prison. Wabash is a thief, murderer, rapists & rustler…a regular bad guy & has a good reason to visit Spencer as Lucas is the one who planted his little brother Harvey & Ham is set to avenge his brother’s death. With his two friends, Bobby “Two Gun” Wilkinson & Curtis Washington, Ham feels pretty confident. Wade is prepared to take all three but one of the passenger’s disembarking the train decides the famous Lucas Wade might appreciate a little assistance. Lucas will learn later after Ham Wabash & his cohorts are dispatched to the other side that his “helper” is Lloyd Canton from Santa Fe. This will not be their last meeting.
Lucas will find himself in the middle of the Big Cattle conglomerate & the smaller ranchers & homesteaders. Big Cattle has plans to take over the open Wyoming range & squeeze out or erase the little guys. Lucas soon learns that nothing will stop these hungry land grabbers & they aren’t above murder & stoop so low as to hang a woman rancher branding her a cattle rustler.
It’s a powder keg & who knows when it will blow. Things are building to a crescendo that will keep you on the edge of your seat frantically turning the last pages to see how it ends.

About the Author

RAYLAN McCRAE practiced law in the upper echelons of the U.S. government and in the private sector; he now spends most his time writing but devotes some of his time to nonpaying things he likes to do, including smoking good cigars, drinking old scotch, and reading books. Raylan loves to read books almost as much as he loves to write them. One of his favorite quotes, from George Martin’s Game of Thrones, says: “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies; the man who never reads lives only one.”

Raylan grew up riding horses and herding cattle before heading to the city. He knows his way around trails and halls alike. Raylan currently lives in Southern California with his wife and children.

The Lucas Wade Western Series includes three published books: Just Compensation, Gunfighter’s Justice, and Day of Reckoning. A fourth book is underway. Raylan is also working on a crime series that will soon be released.

Connect with author on Twitter:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *