Hierarchy of Blood

by – Jennifer Haskin (Author)

A YA Dystopian Romance (The Five Colonies) 

Available on Amazon

Book Description:

The winner will be crowned Ambassador’s Bride. The losers will meet certain death.

When you’re living inside a dwarf planet in the cold abyss of space, life is only easy if you’re rich. 17-year-old Marishel Vance works as a seamstress – but when she’s selected to compete in a brutal contest for the Ambassador’s hand in marriage, she’s quickly catapulted into a life-threatening struggle.

Marishel hates the idea of fighting for some stuck-up rich guy – no matter how handsome he is. But after her attempts to escape are thwarted, she becomes desperate to find a way to end the Blood Match and save the lives of the girls she’s training with. The key could lie in Ambassador Quin himself … but as she tries to win his friendship, her growing feelings for him only complicate the matter.

As the Blood Match looms closer, Marishel spirals deeper into a world of intrigue, danger, punishment, and secrets. Trusting the wrong people means game over. If Marishel wants to save herself – and the other fifty-nine girls sentenced to death – she’ll have to break every rule in the book to do it…

As a riveting and imaginative science fiction novel that expertly weaves exhilarating action and nail-biting suspense with a futuristic death game like no other, Hierarchy of Blood is a page-turning read that’s perfect for fans of books like The Selection and The Hunger Games. Scroll up and grab your copy today…
Paris Book Festival: 2022 Runner up–Young Adult
New York Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention–Science Fiction
Hollywood Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention–Science Fiction

Reviews for the Book

 
Southern California Book Festival: 2022 Winner--Young Adult
Paris Book Festival: 2022 Second-place Runner up--Young Adult
New England Book Festival: 2022 Second-place Runner up--Science Fiction
New York Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention--Science Fiction
Hollywood Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention--Science Fiction
 
I really enjoyed this book. Marishel is a likable character with a clear goal, which makes it easy for the reader to relate to her. I liked the fast-paced plot. Highly recommended for fans of The Hunger Games and The Selection. --Goodreads review
------ 
I LIKED THIS BOOK!! Marishel showed tremendous courage for a teenager when her name was called in the Blood Match contest. I thought The First, Ambassador Quinn's mother, was self absorbed and driven by power to want this tradition to continue. How could she live with herself with sixty girls fighting and killing each other just to be Quinn's match?  --Goodreads review
------
Meep's mom
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Dystopia
Reviewed in the United States ���� on November 7, 2022
SPOILER ALERT!

About the Author: Jennifer Haskin

Jennifer Haskin has a passion to help authors with their writing journey, as well as achieve their publishing goals. She spent a few years learning the ropes of the publishing world as a literary agent, and then a publishing consultant, helping authors ready their submission materials to get the best shot at the contract of their dreams. An author herself, she markets her YA fantasy romance trilogy and is always writing a new series, all while helping authors perfect their books as Associate Editor for Touchpoint Press. She blogs her own journey weekly with writing, editing, publishing and marketing advice. Books are pretty much her thing. She runs a weekly writers’ workshop, and is honored to be a judge for the annual writing contest Ink & Insights.

Connect with the author on: