Sketches of Life 

by – A. Gavazzoni (Author)

(Where The Road Goes Series Book 1)

Available on Amazon

Book Description:

A careless girl. A survivor alone in the world. A world in turmoil.

In the middle of WWII, France surrendered to Germany, and young Lily, half French and half American, has her life turned upside down. A careless girl, full of dreams, Lily must leave France and go to her father’s homeland, taking her mother with her. Lily’s mother becomes completely dependent upon her teenage daughter, and Lily is forced to grow up quickly. Trying her best to support them both, balancing work and dreams of continuing her studies, Lily meets her first love and discovers passion and betrayal on her way.

Ninon is a survivor. Alone in the world, she works as an exotic dancer in a French cabaret called Le Passioné, where she moves her hips to put food on her plate until a new and dangerous opportunity is presented to her. Although Ninon has lost faith in love and God, life will show her surprises can be found around every corner.

France, the United States, Spain, Austria, and Argentina present the backdrops for an epic tale of people trying to adapt to a world in turmoil—one that’s filled with secrets and surprises…

Reviews for the Book

What readers are saying about Sketches of Life: ★★★★★- “I would recommend "Sketches of Life" to anyone looking for a warm heartfelt, heart-wrenching story of a girl coming of age in a war-torn world.”
Reader's Favorite Awarded ★★★★★ "If you want to read a good book, look no further."

About the Author: A. Gavazzoni

A. Gavazzoni is a Brazillian Multi-Award-Winning Novelist of five published literary works within two novel series titled, ‘Hidden Motives’ and ‘Where The Road Goes.’

Adriana has become a critically acclaimed popular steamy romance fiction writer of light erotic with cross-genres of steamy murder mystery suspense, historical romantic thrillers, coming-of-age, and women’s gripping crime fiction. Adriana’s break-out debut of “Behind The Door” book one of the “Hidden Motives” series firmly placed her on the literary map nationally and internationally. All her novels are available on Amazon Books, Amazon Kindle, and Kindles available within Kindle Unlimited. All her novels are featured on online literary book sites, Book Stores, and literary magazines.

Born and raised in Brazil, she is of full Italian lineage. By day she is a Brazillian lawyer, former professor of law, and also writes legal books. She speaks four languages: English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. When she is not practicing law or writing her next novel, she enjoys many interests as a very active person and is an avid reader.

Adriana loves to dance, especially the (Tango), she enjoys cooking and enjoys good food and good wine. She believes in exercising along with living a healthy lifestyle. She enjoys traveling and visits New York often, but her “Happy Place” is always spending time with her big happy family and her pets as a passionate animal lover. Adriana continues to work and reside in Brazil.

Visit her blog for updates and new releases at

***Novel Awards & Achievements For A. Gavazzoni****

“Where The Road Goes Novel Series” Book One – Sketches of Life – Gold Pinnacle Book Achievement Award – Honorable Mention-Los Angeles Book Festival 2021 – Finalist – Book Excellence Awards

Book Two – Life Has Other Plans – Gold Pinnacle Book Achievement Award – Book Excellence Award – Finalist – Eric-Hoffer Award – NIEA – National Indie Book Award – Honorable Mentions – Hollywood Book Festival 2022 & Paris Book Festival 2022 –

All Novels Awarded 5-Star Reader’s Favorite Editorial Book Reviews.

Multiply Awards Won For All Three Novels In The “Hidden Motives” Series…

Connect with the author on: