Skylar Robbins: The Mystery of Shadow Hills by Carrie Cross

Magic. Mystery. Danger. Thirteen-year-old sleuth Skylar Robbins was in for a summer she never could have imagined. Stuck at her bullying cousin’s creepy Malibu estate, she is forced to go a new school where she doesn’t have any friends. Then she meets an intriguing girl named Kat, who introduces her to the fascinating world of…

Magic. Mystery. Danger. Thirteen-year-old sleuth Skylar Robbins was in for a summer she never could have imagined. Stuck at her bullying cousin’s creepy Malibu estate, she is forced to go a new school where she doesn’t have any friends. Then she meets an intriguing girl named Kat, who introduces her to the fascinating world of witchcraft. Armed with her brains, detective tools, and a huge dose of courage, Skylar embarks on an incredible adventure.

Skylar uses her magnifying glass, fingerprinting kit, and binoculars to investigate a series of crimes and the mysterious goings-on in Shadow Hills. She discovers an abandoned garden, and Kat declares it the perfect place to perform spells. Kat challenges Skylar to take increasingly dangerous risks to prove her bravery and loyalty. And she promises great rewards.

“We are going to grow gems.”

Grow what?” There was no way I heard her right.

Kat’s eyes gleamed. “Gems. You know, rubies, emeralds, sapphires? Gems!”

Ignoring the rising tide, they sneak down to the beach at midnight and search three caves for magic seeds to plant in the abandoned garden. Practical Skylar didn’t believe in magic. Until their spells begin to work.

Skylar Robbins: The Mystery of Shadow Hills has been a #1 Best Seller in Children’s Detective ebooks, Children’s Fantasy & Supernatural Mystery ebooks, Children’s Sword & Sorcery Fantasy ebooks, and Children’s ebooks: Mystery & Detectives/Spies.

5 stars: Spellbinding!

Review by GemTones on November 15, 2014
Fans of Nancy Drew and Harry Potter alike will love this fast-paced blend of detective action, mystery, witchcraft, and magic. The main character is a strong, intelligent teen sleuth who has a unique, multi-cultural group of interesting classmates.

Get this Book on Amazon.com

“Great book for pre-teens!!”

Five Star Review on Amazon By KylerB

One of the best books I’ve read!! Exciting. Suspenseful. Keeps you on the edge of your seat and leaves you wanting more! I can’t wait for the next one!!

About the Author

Carrie Cross is an avid reader who fell in love with books as a little girl after reading Goodnight Moon. She wrote her first “book” at age four: Blackie the Little Black Dog and the Flying Washing Machine. Carrie discovered her love of mysteries reading Nancy Drew books and The Happy Hollisters series, and after writing THE MYSTERY OF SHADOW HILLS, she continues to look for clues in unexpected places to this day.

Carrie Cross’s influences include Judy Blume, Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Lee Child. In addition to writing Skylar Robbins mysteries and reading, Carrie loves to cook, hike at the beach, go boating, and travel.

During a recent interview she was asked, “Where do you get your inspiration?”

“When I was six years old, my parents decided we needed to buy a bigger house. We looked at a creepy two-story in Santa Monica Canyon, and I played hide-and-seek with the little girl who lived there. There were closets and secret hiding places with doors that opened into other rooms. Later, I wondered, “What if there was a clue hidden in one of those closets?” And the idea for the Skylar Robbins mystery series was born.

Skylar’s adventures continue in THE MYSTERY OF THE HIDDEN JEWELS. After she solves her second big case, the Skylar Robbins Detective Agency tackles the MYSTERY OF THE MISSING HEIRESS. Carrie Cross is currently at work on her fourth Skylar Robbins novel, THE CURSE OF KOMA ISLAND.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *