The Changling Incident

by – P. H. Solomon (Author)

A Gaslamp Detective Fantasy, Book 0.1 of The Cursed Mage Case Files

Available on Amazon

Book Description:

Thwarting a smuggling operation is easy – until it’s not…

Manny’s job is simple, apprehend smugglers and confiscate their mysterious contraband. Plans are set, his team deployed, the trap poised for execution.

But intrigue swirls like magic as the planned raid nears. Who warned Manny of danger? Why did his team lead enter the warehouse too soon?

All is not as it appears for a simple raid. When unforeseen danger erupts, will Manny escape?

This is Volume 0.1 of The Cursed Mage Case Files.
The next book is: The Order of the Dark Rose
Future releases include:
The Unseen Hand, Volume 2 of The Cursed Mage Case Files (late summer 2022 release – still a fluid date)
The Nine Jewel Heist, Volume 3 of The Cursed Mage Case Files (fall of 2022 release – very fluid date)
At least three more novel – length books are planned for this series as well as a possible anthology of minor cases and a few more prequel short cases and adventures.

Author’s note: this series is a Gaslamp Fantasy set in an alternate world all its own. It contains elements of steampunk, private detective mystery, espionage, urban fantasy, and magic realism as a mashup into a high concept world of magic and intrigue. While Manny and Wish are characters with a strong nod toward Holmes and Watson, the cases do not always flow the same way. For more insight into these characters and their world of magic, check the author’s series webpage for a growing list of supplemental material.

This book can be found in these categories:
Paranormal & Urban Fantasy, Magical Realism, Fantasy Adventure Fiction, Dragons & Mythical Creatures Fantasy, Gaslamp Fantasy, Steampunk Science Fiction, Movie & Game Tie-In

Reviews for the Book

Reviews as part of The Order of the Dark Rose; "Magical world-building, brilliant characters, amazing, leaves you craving more, sleight of hand story" - Reviews from Readers Favorite

About the Author: P. H. Solomon

Multi retailer Bestselling Author, Fantasia Reviews Book of the Year Author 2017 & 2018

U. S. author, P. H. Solomon grew up with a love of books including fantasy. Always interested in odd details, history and the world around him, P. H. has found an outlet in writing where he mixes a wide range of interests from the regular world, history and anthropology into his fantasy books.

His epic fantasy series, The Bow of Hart Saga, brought a fresh viewpoint to the genre where magic, myth and mysticism mingle. Described by readers as a “mixture of the classic fantasy past with new ideas.”

Trading Knives (0.1)

What is Needed (0.2)

The Bow of Destiny #1

An Arrow Against the Wind #2

The White Arrow #3

The latest series, The Cursed Mage Case Files is a mash-up of classic Sherlock Holmes, The Dresden Files and Harry Potter into a unique fantasy world where magic is both an arcane practice and a technological power to be harnessed. Join Mandlefred Mandeheim and Wishton Ackford as they team up to investigate magical mysteries.

The Order of the Dark Rose #1

The Unseen Hand #2 (upcoming)

The Nine Jewel Heist #3 (upcoming)

More books:

Curses Dark and Foul

The Black Bag

Find more about P. H. Solomon as well as articles and research notes, plus free stories, at

Connect with the author on: