61g+UXhEijL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_This is the second novel in the Power and Lynch series. Dr Carl Power is a psychiatrist who sleuths with his friend Superintendent Lynch. In this instalment Power is drawn into the investigation of a murder during a fire set at Heaton Hall in Cheshire. Power is convinced that the accused is innocent and that there has been a high level cover-up. This novel follows The Darkening Sky.

Get this Book on Amazon.com

“FIRE OF LOVE This is a gripping story”

Five Star Review on Amazon By Julie


This is a gripping story, I was hooked from the first page and found it difficult to put down. The description of the house and its history and the man who built it was very true to the time and the author really brings it to life.

The likeable characters of Fynch and Doctor Power are introduced after the tragedy of the fire which resulted in the destruction of the house and death of Sir Ian McWilliam, leaving the question ̶ is it accidental death, or murder? That makes it sound a simple plot and it is anything but, there are lots of twists and turns and complex characters to keep the ending difficult to guess.

I love the illustration by Paul Imrie on the cover, it is very striking and beautifully drawn as are the black and white illustrations inside.

A well written book with a well-thought out storyline, I enjoyed it very much and definitely want to read the next one.

I received a copy of The Fire of Love free as a Goodreads first-read giveaway. Thank you so much to the author and Goodreads for giving me the opportunity to read this book.

About the Author

Hugh Greene is the English author of the Dr Power and Superintendent Lynch (Or Power and Lynch) mysteries. The books are available in paperback on Amazon and in ebook from Kindle and iBook.

The thrillers have a strong sense of place – featuring the English counties of Cheshire and Shopshire. There is even a Power/Lynch walk in the ancient Roman city of Chester.

The first book of the series, published in September 2014 was “The Darkening Sky”.

The second book of the series, published in October 2014 was “The Fire of Love”.

The third book of the series was published in 2015 and is “The Good Shepherd”.

A compendium of the first three books – “The Dr Power Mysteries” was published in 2015.

A new book of short stories ‘Dr Power’s Casebook’ will be published in 2016.

The fourth novel, ‘Schrodinger’s God’, will be published in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *