The Segmented Tail by Stanley C Straub

The Segmented Tail is a gripping Science Fiction suspense thriller written in the vein of a Dean Koontz and Stephen King novel.  The story starts in the small fictitious town of Bounder, Arizona.  Creatures are seen that make screeching sounds and they scare and kill people in Bounder.  When people are murdered, two detectives are…

The Segmented Tail is a gripping Science Fiction suspense thriller written in the vein of a Dean Koontz and Stephen King novel.  The story starts in the small fictitious town of Bounder, Arizona.  Creatures are seen that make screeching sounds and they scare and kill people in Bounder.  When people are murdered, two detectives are assigned to investigate.  The detectives fear for their lives as they get deeper and deeper into the investigation.  What they uncover is something that no one could ever have imagined, aliens created by two animal experts accidentally mixing up alien DNA with Dinosaur DNA.  The story winds its way from beginning to an exciting and unanticipated conclusion.

The beginning of Chapter 6 of “The Segmented Tail”.
6 THE MYSTERY DEEPENS
1

The week went by quickly with no new developments. Chris Mullins remained in the zombie-like trance. Frank and Philip cruised around Bounder and except for a few crude remarks from Frank all went smoothly between the two of them. However, on Friday night, just as they were about to get off duty, the dispatcher called and said that they were needed over at the Nelson’s house in Bounder.
“A Mr. Bill Nelson called and sounded pretty shook up,” the dispatcher said. “The guy didn’t say much, but only that he needed police officers to come to their house as quickly as possible. Oh, I almost forgot, just before he hung up, he mentioned something about finding something strange.”
Frank made a u-turn and they headed towards the Nelson’s house.

Janette Nelson, was trembling when she opened the door and invited Frank and Philip in. “Are you okay?” Philip asked. “Just a little frightened,” she said and beckoned them in. She led them to the front room where Bill was waiting for them on the couch.
“What’s up?” Frank asked, taking out his notepad.
“Well…,” Bill started and then stopped when he began shaking. “We were cleaning up Jimmy’s room this afternoon and we heard a noise under his bed.” He stopped for a moment, then after gathering his composure, continued, “I wasn’t sure what was under his bed, but when I looked, I saw two reddish “glowing” eyes peering at me.” Bill and Janette looked at each other and trembled.
“All you saw were two red eyes?” Frank asked.
“No, there was more. Behind those evil piercing eyes, there was the most hideous looking thing I’ve ever seen in my life.”
“Did you see it too, ma’am?” Philip asked Janette.
“Yes,” she said, trembling. “It flew out from under the bed and crashed through the window.” She pointed to the shattered window on the other side of the bed.
(Note:  The Chapter 6 preview has been viewed by over 23,582 people world-wide and over 11,271 of those people “like” it.)

Available on Amazon

About the Author

Stanley Straub was a Guided Missile Technician in the Navy and and worked as an electrical engineer in the Aerospace Industry. He is a master at crafting technical thrillers that will capture you and thrill you. Mr. Straub loves writing suspense stories and has been honing his skills by writing spine-tingling stories since he was in grade school. He writes in the vein of Dean Koontz, Peter Straub, and Steven King. However, he has his own unique style. If you like reading suspense thrillers, then you’ll love reading his books. He is the author of the published thriller, “The Killer Within” and “The Segmented Tail”. He is currently working on his new novel, “The Trail in the Woods”.

Connect with author on Twitter:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *